Milan Fashion Week Highlights: Ermenegildo Zegna

Like Alexander McQueen’s collection, this is full of chic for boys. For Spring/Summer 2013, Ermenegildo Zegna brings a lot of sports outfits, bright fabrics and a lot of manly outfits. I loved the colors that were used for this collection, and the contrasts that were created, which are pretty good for a Spring/Summer collection. I’m quite happy in general terms with it because it has what I like in menswear: the MAN factor. A good suit can make the most ordinary guy look like a god, and this collection has that magical touch on it.

Now I’ve praised the whole collection, but there’s something I certainly didn’t like: why on earth should a great outfit be ruined by the absence of socks? I was discussing this with a friend of mine and he said: ‘I think that’s disgusting and uncomfortable’. That coming from a man, mind you. This is the only thing that made my eye twitch on this whole collection, I mean, socks are important in a man’s outfit, why take them away and ruin the whole thing? I don’t think it was laziness, but I don’t think it was a fashionable move either.

Check the rest of the collection here

Leave a Reply

